My Summer Challenge

June 13, 2011. 6 weeks away. 42 days. Approximately 1000 hours. June 13, and I will be free once again.

Because on that date, I graduate.

And when I graduate, I can do all the things I’ve spent the last 6 weeks wishing to do.  I can organize and decorate my writing room.  I can reorganize my closet.  Spring cleaning.  Get rid of junk.  Relax.  Sleep.  And…

READ!

I miss reading.  I use to average a book a week.  A really good book, I’ll finish it in a day.  But when I’m spending 8 hours student teaching and the same on homework, there is no time for On Writing or Gabriel’s Redemption.  I can’t pick up In Memory of Greed or Pillars of the Earth.  Not the rest of Anne Bishop’s Blood Jewels books or Richelle Mead’s Succubus series.  I’m stuck reading Oh, the Places I’ll Go, The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, and Tacky the Penguin.  Don’t get me wrong, I look a good kids books, but somehow they leave me craving the sophistication and maturity of a chapter book.

Summer is coming up, and as it sits right now, I don’t have a job.  Of course, I plan on writing.  And writing.  Maybe editing.  And more writing.

But seriously, what’s writing without reading?  So, as my book queue expands, I decided I really need to do something about it. I challenged myself!

My challenge:  A book a week.  At least two a month by indie authors.  A review on everything I read.

It’s not much, I know.  But I’m excited about it.  Maybe I’ll even double it.  We’ll see how it goes.  If you have any suggestions on a good book, let me know.  If you want to join my challenge with me, please do!  It will be fun!

Published in: on 05.02.2011 at 7:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lorajobennett.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/my-summer-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

